Teaching Literacy on Bequia

I love it when #writers do stuff like this!!

Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

DSC00510

When Carin Makuz first announced her idea for The Litter I See Project and asked authors to contribute a written piece to be published on the blog, I was in! Anything bringing attention to the problem of litter was important to me. But the combined issues of litter/literacy was a perfect play-on-words (Litter-I-See) that made this project irresistible. I wrote to Carin immediately to ask for a photo of a piece of litter.

The other aspect of this project that attracted my attention is that it was launched to help raise funds, as well as awareness, for Frontier College in Toronto, a literacy organization founded in 1899 that began by sending teachers to far-flung work places, like the railways and mines and even into lumber camps in the bush, to work by day and teach the other workers to read and write in English at night. Maintenant en français aussi

View original post 1,066 more words

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Teaching Literacy on Bequia

  1. Thanks for the reblog, Tim!

  2. Hey – if I can’t find time to create my own content I might as well share yours – especially since it’s this awesome!!

Leave a Reply

