When Will We Ever Learn?

I really wish I didn’t have to write this.

I guess, technically, I don’t have to – but I really feel it’s necessary.

As far back as I can remember I’ve felt compelled to speak up when I see something that doesn’t seem right. Similarly, I also have trouble controlling the impulse to inform people that they may have their “facts” mixed up. I’m sure it’s an annoying trait which probably makes me seem a bit pedantic, but I assure you – my intentions are pure.

That being said – I repeat my opening statement…I really wish I didn’t have to write this, but being a lover of books, as well as an author, I feel the message is not only an important one, but one that is necessary if the USA is to continue being “the land of the free.”

Today’s rant is about, once again, book banning.

This is the third (maybe fourth) time I’ve done a post on this topic and, as in each of the previous times, this writing was inspired by an exchange on social media which began when I posted a meme featuring a quote by Stephen King…

Shortly after posting it, one of my followers (probably a former follower now) asked “So exactly what books have been banned?”

I provided him with this link which provides some pretty comprehensive data on the topic. To which he replied “Those books aren’t banned. Because you can still buy them. A truly banned book means you can’t get it at all. “Book suppression”? It means these books are not appropriate for children! Much like an R rated movie. The idea that these books are being “banned” is a lie.”

If you visit my facebook page ( https://www.facebook.com/BlindoggBooks ) you can read the entire exchange, but suffice to say that his position was basically a regurgitation of right-wing/FOX news talking points.

So, in his opinion, keeping certain books out of classrooms and school libraries is not the same as banning them. He may be technically correct, but this isn’t about semantics (in my mind) it’s about the potential for this sort of thing to escalate into something much bigger.

It starts out small…a few school districts enact bans on a few books. The opposition fails to put a stop to it, and after a little while the public forgets about it. Then a parent in another district (one parent – that’s all it takes…  https://www.weareteachers.com/parent-complaint-amanda-gorman/ ) learns about an “objectionable” book available in her child’s school and goes full-Karen at the next meeting of her town’s school board. This prompts said school board to follow suit with the others, and another ban is enacted. The opposition gets a little more vocal, but still fails. After a while the public forgets about it. The snowball keeps rolling and eventually turns into an avalanche. Soon everybody is wondering how it got so out of hand as they try to dig themselves out of the snow.

Don’t say it isn’t possible, because it’s happened before.

I live in Florida so I see the effect up close and personal because currently Florida is second only to Texas in the number of instances of book banning in schools. It wouldn’t surprise me if Florida passes Texas in the race to be the new fascist elite since our governor (the man who wants to be your president) has sworn to abolish leftism and destroy wokeism. I don’t mean to get political – but let’s face it…politics is the horse pulling this particular buggy.

Of course, lawmakers insist these bans are for the protection of the children. You read the right…lawmakers are trying to protect the children…while they’re in school…from books.

Take all the time you need with that one.

Hypocrisy aside – let’s be realistic…in a world where children have immediate and unfettered access to the entirety of the world’s knowledge on their cell phones…what exactly is accomplished by banning books from classrooms and libraries?

In all honesty, I’d rather have my child viewing anything “controversial” (and I use that term ironically) in the presence of a teacher or librarian than with one of their friends who has figured out how to access the dark web.

I only have one question for those who would ban books:

What are you afraid of?

Here are the links to a couple of my other rants about book banning if you’re interested:

As always…thank you for reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment