Plotting a Thriller

Cynthia Harrison talks about the challenges of writing a story in a new genre.

Cynthia Harrison

IMG_1577

I’ve had the idea for a psychological thriller for almost a year now. The minute I finished my latest novel (on my editor’s desk as I type this) I started planning the new one. I quickly realized there would be a LOT more research than usual. I had a new genre, a new setting, a new profession, which has since turned into several new professions. I almost said “maybe not.”

But my critique group meets next week, and a month ago I’d promised them a first chapter of the new book. I’d already done quite a bit of research on the setting and I knew the character since I’d written about her in two previous novels. Also, I had read How to Write a Damn Good Mystery by James N. Frey when I wrote Sweet Melissa, so I knew some stuff. Enough for a first chapter.

bayou.IMG_1361

I had also…

View original post 392 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

