What the F%*K is Wrong with People?

WARNING: This post is a rant and will contain very little, if any, content of substance. It may, however, contain offensive language. If you are offended by any thought expressed by me, I apologize in advance. Some of the content, not of my creation, will – or at least SHOULD – offend you…be forewarned.

Rated R

Okay, now that we have the disclaimer out of the way, I would like to open with a question.

What the f%*k is wrong with people?

Not all people, but an ever-increasing number of them.

Social deviance is nothing new, but the age of social media seems to have elevated it to the point where it is now acceptable to act like a complete a$$hole in a public forum.

annonymity Back in the days of face-to-face conversation there was usually (not always, but usually) a filter. We might have thought something about the person we were talking to, but there was something about eye contact that gave pause to saying it aloud. Now that conversation has been, or is being, replaced by typing – and eye-to-eye is giving way to eye-to-monitor – that filter is being eroded.

The problem is compounded when the anonymity of the internet creates a digital mob-mentality and people jump on a bandwagon they’d ordinarily ignore.

I understand that people are entitled to their opinions, and I am also aware that not everybody likes everybody else…and the combination of those two facts often leads to “less than respectful” remarks – especially when it comes to celebrities. mob mentality

Back in the pre-social media days many of these remarks went largely unheard – thankfully.

Not so anymore…nowadays our preferred method of communication is instantly available world-wide. Everything we say (post) can be seen by millions of people before we have a chance to reconsider saying it…and it seems that some people are using it as their personal platform in hopes of getting their fifteen minutes of fame…AND (the worst part of the whole thing) it seems that the easiest way to make that leap into the limelight is by being more rude and offensive than the last douchebag.

What set me off, you ask?

In a way, it’s been building for some time now.

Every day I peruse the internet and find myself asking (aloud) “What the f%*k is wrong with people?”

Some of the things people post are, to me, absolutely mind boggling.

I freely admit that I am not perfect. I have my opinions and I am pretty staunch in my beliefs…but I do my best (this post notwithstanding) to follow one of my mother’s staples of wisdom…”If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

Granted, I am not above posting a humorous meme about Kanye’s antics or some other such silliness…but there is a line that I won’t cross.

I won’t even approach it.

It’s the line that separates the majority of people from the scum.

The final straw came in the form of a series of tweets directed at former Major League Baseball player Curt Schilling.

Curt has a daughter about to enter college where she will pitch for the college softball team.

Being a proud father, Curt tweeted about his daughter’s accomplishments.

I’m sure; as a celebrity, Curt expected some “colorful” backlash…he was probably even prepared for a little bit of rudeness.

What he got was something that nobody could have ever expected, and something that nobody deserves – a barrage of replies about his daughter that left rude and disrespectful in the rear-view-mirror and sped away from it at Mach 2.

We’re talking about comments that would make the proverbial drunken sailor blush. Violent, sexual and deeply personal.

Curt responded with a blog post (see it here) and, in my opinion, is exhibiting restraint that I can’t imagine. Thankfully I don’t have a daughter, because if I did, and something like this happened, I would be out of my mind with rage.

In the interest of full disclosure – it is well documented that I am a Red Sox fan, and Curt Schilling played a major role in their 2004 and 2007 World Series Championships…but (believe it or not) that has nothing to do with my reaction to this bullshit.

If this had happened to Alex Rodriguez I would be equally as outraged.

This behavior – REGARDLESS OF WHATEVER BULLSHIT RATIONALIZATION YOU HAVE FOR IT – is so far down the ladder of social acceptance that if we took the express elevator to hell we’d still have to look down with binoculars to see it.

Honestly. Any person who thinks there is even a hint of justification for this sort of garbage is a moron of the highest order, to be grouped with child molesters and animal abusers.

This is what I say to these scumbags…

Yes, this is a free country, and…Yes, you have the right to say whatever you want, but…Just because you CAN doesn’t mean you SHOULD.hate speech

You are nothing more than a degenerate, moron, scumbag – and your parents should be locked in a Turkish prison for raising you so poorly.

Maybe you’re a refugee from an alternate reality where this behavior is common-place. If so, do the universe a favor and go back, I’m sure you’re considered one of the elders there and your wisdom is surely missed.

That’s all I have to say…actually, I have a lot more to say, but to say it in this post would mean reducing myself to the same level as the “people” I’m talking about.

I told you there would be very little meaningful content in this one.

 

As always – thank you for reading

43 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

43 responses to “What the F%*K is Wrong with People?

  1. I never knew Shilling had a blog, but I followed it today. Great post and an important topic.

  2. Spot on. It is shameful how some people behave on social media. I have a 13-year-old daughter and I too would be seething. No Facebook or Twitter in my house because of people like that out there.

  3. I totally agree with you, Tim. I haven’t looked at the Shilling blog but I did see a disturbing youtube video the other day featuring famous women talking about the appalling tweets they’ve received (can’t remember what it was called now). Haters are insidious and I don’t think anyone can answer the question as to why they are so frikken weird and cruel. I think it was Hawking who recently said climate change or meteors won’t end the world as we know it – the most dangerous threat to humanity at the moment is hate.

  4. I treat how I behave on social media as I would in real life. I don’t use my anonymity as an excuse to be nasty. Hating on others seems to be a waste of time, people need to focus on their own lives.

  5. Author Rebecca Heishman

    This is meaningful, and it needed to be said. I think we are all stunned at the level of hatred that seems to be ‘just the way it is’ on social media these days. I had my epiphany when I realized that the mean kids were bullying the sensitive kids to death via social media on a regular basis and nobody seems to be able to stop it from continuing. As the reality of that sank in, I realized that it was a blessing that there was no social media when I was a kid in school. I was one of the sensitive kids. I was different. I was odd. I was quiet and introverted. I’m not sure I’d be alive today. I might very well have been one of those kids found hanging in my bedroom closet.

    • I think it’s obvious we need to start punishing this behavior much the same as when wr needed to punish people for “stalking”…if it continues unchecked it will only get worse.

  6. No I agree. Sometimes the comments on sites don’t even seem to relate with what you read or watched. YouTube for instance. How is it you can watch a music video or something harmless and when you check out the comments there’s always rude, disturbing comments. People get on just to criticize what others have to say. It seems like a waste of time.

  7. I read the entire Schilling post, the referenced posts and the more than 400 comments. Eeeeegad! What hatred! Symptomatic of a sick society. Some people seem to have a need to play out their fantasies in the ethersphere without any regard for consequences. I’m glad he called them out.

    I have a niece who is twenty-five. She’s pretty, smart and a little shy. If you met her you would think she’s just adorable. She’s college educated, married to a decent man, has a two year old son and a baby on the way. She goes to church on Sundays and lives a modest, seemingly happy, life in small town U.S.A. Yet, on Facebook she talks like an urban, ghetto gangster, badmouthing any and everybody, people she knows, people she doesn’t know. Her language is as bad or worse than these young men from Schilling’s post. She has about 500 “friends”. (How, I don’t know.) I had to “unfriend” her for fear of being associated with her. I think she needs professional help. I asked my dad about her. I asked my half-sister about her. They both responded, basically, that the internet isn’t real and everybody knows it isn’t real, so what’s the big deal? But it IS real. It’s as real as it gets. It’s what’s inside our collective spirit, our collective consciousness. And that’s scary.

    • Excellent points, Susan…I’m glad Curt called these morons out too – I hear at least one of them lost his job because of his actions.
      I’m sorry about your niece…but, like you said, it seems to be where our society is heading,
      Sad.

  8. I agree, but have no solution. When people make 13m a year before endorsements spouting hate, making fun of how people look and talk, you ain’t gonna stop it.

    • I’m not sure I understand your comment, Rob. Are you saying that Schilling spouts hate and makes fun of people?

      • No. I’m just talking about the media in general. Mostly talk radio and cable news. I should have made myself clearer. I think it’s just the way it is now, sadly.

      • I guess what i’m trying to say is that we get bombarded with some level of hate speech 24-7 and it hardens people, makes them insensitive. I don’t face or tweet for that very reason. I’m careful what I post on my blog, so it doesn’t become an asshole magnet. 🙂

  9. You’re right…spouting negativity is becoming a multi-million dollar industry. It’s very sad.

  10. Well said! I hate bad language in blogs (even yours) but I hate even more the people on any social media, who think they can say whatever they like as they hide behind their anonymity. These people are small-minded, jealous, and obviously on an ego trip. I could say a lot more, but I will control myself.

    • Thank you Shirley. It’s tough to restrain from saying what we really want to these people because we don’t want to stoop to their level. And to those who say “just ignire it” – they just don’t understand the problem.

  11. This is a powerful message that needs to go viral, Tim! Thank you for saying it. I hope everyone shares! I wish people were willing to use their NAME on social media, which might eliminate SOME of the mean-spirited comments.

  12. Cam

    Tim,

    Sadly, things like what those creeps said is par for the course for women using the internet more often than not. Thankfully, these jerks were found out and have both been fired and expelled from their work and schools. That’s a rarity in the realm of the internet. This is a post that needed to be written, and it will continue to need to be written over and over by people everywhere until it stops. Thank you for writing it.

  13. carolyn marlow

    tim you are absolutely right. i am so sad to see how things are changing in our world. because we own a business we have been on the receiving end of some pretty vile and hurtful comments. way beyond the normal reviews, but downright nasty and hateful. can u imagine? all because they can hide behind a computer… i remember the Dixie Chicks song “i ‘m not ready to back down”, it has so much meaning on this subject 😦 i hope good triumphs bad, and the world will play nice, but i’m afraid for the future and think eventually the nice people will simply unplug so as to not be a part of this ugly internet world…? thanks for starting some dialogue on this subject 🙂 Have a nice day :))))))

    • Thank you, Carolyn – I’m with you. I hope there are enough good people around to stand up to these jerks. We need to create an atmosphere where it isn’t worth it to be mean and nasty rather than give them the spotlight.

      • Agreed Agreed Agreed! But how can we stop this?

        • I don’t know if there is an easy solution, Carol…but I think it would have to start with teaching our children about the affects of their on-line behavior. The internet is a relatively new form of communication and if we don’t learn from our mistakes and pass that knowledge on to the next generation it will only get worse.

  14. Reblogged this on themultiversetheorist27 and commented:
    I really think that this is one of the most pertinent articles I’ve come across. Even though I knew nothing about this incident and I live across the ocean from where it all happened, cyberbullying is a pandemic. And the cure seems nowhere in sight.

  15. I disagree with you on one thing you said- This post definitely is one of substance. You are absolutely right. These vicious trolls hiding behind the anonymity of the internet are horrible, rude, nasty excuses for human beings. I don’t know what’s wrong with some people. It’s hard to understand how anyone with human feelings and a soul could find pleasure in spewing their hateful opinions all over the internet. Freedom of Speech protects individuals who wish to speak out against the government. It doesn’t protect you from having Facebook or Twitter suspend your account. So many people get this confused. Thank you for posting this, Tim.

  16. I am a firm believer in editing. I can be pissed off, but it will never be known on social media. I can have a political opinion and even laugh at political jokes, but it will not be shared or tweeted. I too, Mr. Tim Baker, are a firm believer in if you have nothing good to say. Hence there is a plethora of pictures and videos of dogs, cats, animals and even kids. Make them Smile, is my thought. It may be why we are friends. we are smart.

  17. Pingback: What the F%*K is Wrong with People? | Palmcoastnow's Blog

  18. I remember when I was in high school in the mid-eighties and getting interested in media the concept of attribution was always on the forefront. I would say things like “I read Janet Maslow’s article on that new movie in Sunday’s New York Times and she said that or this …”. Now a-days it is a different ball game when a “reviewer” with a name like “criptic1234” is sharing his or her thoughts. It is becoming more and more like a collective conscience. Also the idea of a writer sharing words with thousand with out going through an editor. Unheard of back in the day.It is a brave new frontier.

  19. You had me at “contains offensive language”. 🙂

  20. I think it was very meaningful. I read the article and I, too, am repulsed by this. Back in the day, we didn’t talk on the phone until we got home from school, and that was after we got a ton of homework done. We packed our lunches or we didn’t eat lunch! We calculated algebra manually…and were lucky if we had a calculator (did we even have calculators back then??)! We couldn’t wait to get a job and leave home. We met real people and talked face to face. If you said something like this to a girl’s Dad…you would be knocked out cold! Only cowards hide behind the cell phone/computer and make comments like that. It is very sad to watch society degrade under the guise of technology.

Leave a Reply

