Stop Treating Other Writers as Your Competition

A while ago I wrote a blog post about authors treating other authors like competition ( http://tinyurl.com/msbsx76 ). It’s nice to see that I am not the only author who feels that way.

Courtney Herz Writes

There’s a trend that I’ve noticed, and I feel it needs attention. In cyberspace as in social space, it seems that writers like to consider other writers their competition. While this might initially make some amount of sense on the surface when it comes to writers within one’s own genre, it makes little to no sense when looking at writers in other genres. However, I’m here to tell you that no matter what genre the fellow writer across from you or next to you or on the next Amazon listing as you writes in, they are not your competition.

Ready for me to prove my point by asking one simple question?

Good.

Name one person you know who exclusively reads books from one author.

I’ll wait.

No, seriously, take your time.

Nobody? No takers? Nobody you know ONLY reads books from ONE single author?

Wow. Shocker.

Now, tell me how…

View original post 529 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

