The Butterfly and the Dragon

My friend and fellow author Becky Pourchot has a few thoughts about career paths, happiness, butterflies and F. Scott Fitzgerald – I’m sure there are lots of Indie Authors out there who have had similar thoughts.

The Transparent Author

butterfly

I recently attended a class by Ali Rodriguez, a local business consultant who spoke on “Passion to the Fifth Power”. Her lecture, though business in nature, felt more like the words of some sort of Indian yogi than someone teaching us how to get rich quick. I liked her right away.

Ali’s shtick was all about overcoming fear, finding self-confidence, and listening to your gut. She said turn off the voices around you and focus on what you want, not what everyone else wants for you.

Here’s what I know about me: My outside voices are loud. In regards to business they’re constantly telling me, “You should be marketing more. You should be on Twitter. You should be doing book tours. You should, you should, you should.”

But when I step back from those voices and listen to my heart I hear, “Write, write, write. Spend time with your…

View original post 560 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

