What Are You Doing to Stop the Rape Culture?

The world is full of evil people who commit reprehensible acts.

Just when you think you’ve seen or heard about the absolute worst thing possible for a human being to do, some morally bankrupt individual comes along and raises the bar…or lowers it, as it were.

The behavior of some people sometimes makes me ashamed to belong to the same race as them.

By now you’re probably wondering what got me on this topic…I don’t blame you. Writing about it was not a decision I made lightly. In fact, it was my hesitation to reply to a facebook post that started my internal debate.

The post in question was a link to an article about sex slaves (here is a link to it).

I read the article and was, as I imagine most people would be, totally dumbfounded.

Honestly, I was numb for several minutes after reading it.

When I finally came back to the real world my first thought was “I’m just thankful I’m not like those men.”

I returned to the facebook post to register that thought, but somebody had beaten me to it by commenting “not all men are the same.”

The person who posted the link refused to accept that response. Instead they asked “What do you do to stop this from happening?”

At first I was angry. I wanted to respond with something to defend not only the guy who replied, but myself as well; because I do believe that not all men (or women for that matter) are the same. We are all as different as snowflakes in a blizzard.

I thought about it at length – asking myself if I was justified to reply in such a manner.

Or was the person right?

Was this a case of “not being part of the solution making me part of the problem”?

I truly don’t think it is, but I still had to satisfy myself.

What can I possibly do to stop the problem?

Is non-participation enough? It certainly curbs the spread of it.

Is it enough that I raised my son to respect all life equally and to treat others the way he would want to be treated? Not only would this help to check the spread, there is always the possibility of him leading by example so that others might behave similarly.

I have to admit, I wasn’t doing a great job of convincing myself.

Then I remembered something that happened to me as a child. I don’t think it was a repressed memory, I think it was just an event that didn’t register with me at the time as being noteworthy.

It was just something that happened.

I was in the 7th grade. I was walking home from school using a shortcut through the woods behind the building as I did every day. I don’t remember why, but on this particular day I was alone, which was unusual.

As I rounded a corner in the path I came across three 8th grade boys who were trying to remove the pants of a girl who was probably about 8 or 9. I don’t know what their end game was, but I knew I didn’t want it to get to that point.

It was their laughter that enraged me.

They thought it was funny.

I was a very small kid and my older brothers often told me that I had “more balls than brains”, but I pushed my way into the melee, forcing my 4’-3”- 55 lb body between the girl and the three older boys.

Proportionately, it would be the adult equivalent of a guy the size of Johnny Depp squaring off against three NFL linebackers.

I was terrified, but I remember thinking that if I was that scared, imagine how she felt.

I yelled at the boys – something to the effect of what the f*%k is wrong with you?

After what seemed like an eternity of squaring off, they laughed at me, called me a few select names implying that I was confused about my gender role, and left.

I walked the girl home, handed her off to her mother and continued on my way without ever really thinking about it again, until now.

That is the best response I can come up with to the question “what do you to stop it?”

If I were to encounter a similar situation today, I would make the same decision.

In the meantime, I shared the above article. Hopefully raising awareness to the problem will help put an end to it.

Short of me encountering some of these degenerates, I don’t know what else I can do.

As always – thank you for reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

