After All He’s Been Through…Kurt Deserves a Little Love

This is the story of my third release, No Good Deed.

First, here’s some background;

It started when I wrote Living the Dream…the adventures of a hapless, would-be kidnapper named Kurt.

In that book, Kurt goes through a series of hard-learned life lessons, for which he paid dearly, and in the end he rides off into a rainstorm in a stolen garbage truck.

In my mind, that was it…end of story.

Not so much…After Living the Dream – I released Water Hazard, and then I was working on the next project, Pump It Up. It was while I was writing Pump that something interesting happened. I began to receive emails from readers—all asking the same question…

“What happened to Kurt?”

It seems that even though Kurt was “the bad guy” of Living the Dream, I had inadvertently created a “loveable loser” and he had endeared himself to most of the people who read the book. Now they wanted some closure and the word sequel was being bandied about.

Now I was faced with a dilemma.

You see…I had never intended to write a sequel. I don’t even like sequels. Plus – I was in the middle of writing Pump It Up and I didn’t want to screw up my schedule (Pump was originally intended for release in the summer of 2011).

None of these things mattered. The emails continued to come in and I decided to “give the people what they want.”

Here’s a cool little backstory…since I had never contemplated a sequel to Living the Dream, I had no story idea to use. Until one rainy, Sunday afternoon—I was lying on the couch watching an old movie and I dozed off. It was one of those half-sleep things which only lasted about ten minutes or so…but in that little ten minute nap I had a dream about the story-line for No Good Deed.

This is especially fascinating considering that Living the Dream was literally the by-product of a dream. I took this as a message.

Approximately 8 months later No Good Deed was released – which brings me to the point of the story (finally).

No Good Deed

I was very pleased with No Good Deed. I think it’s a good story, but I also think the book got the shaft, because not long after it was released I released Pump It Up and then soon after that Backseat to Justice was released. So while those two books were thrust into the spotlight, No Good Deed was sort of forgotten.

At a recent book signing, a woman picked up a copy of No Good Deed after the cover caught her eye. She read the synopsis and bought a copy – without ever having read Living the Dream (it isn’t really necessary, the story stands on its own quite well).

I thought about it later and realized that even though No Good Deed is a good story, it doesn’t get the recognition it deserves. I blame it on two factors;

First, it was followed by two other books in quick succession, and

Second, it was a sequel…and many people are afraid to read sequels because, historically, sequels usually pale in comparison to their predecessors.

This is a cruel injustice and I would really like to see it rectified.

So I’m writing this post in hopes that you, the readers, will take a look at the book that has been pushed aside like the proverbial “red-headed step-child”.

No Good Deed is available (like all of my books) in paperback herekindle version here and for all other e-readers here.

So do a good deed, help feed a starving author and buy a book for the reader on your Christmas list. Remember – No good deed goes unpunished!

As always – thank you for reading.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “After All He’s Been Through…Kurt Deserves a Little Love

  1. Pingback: No Rest for the Weary | blindoggbooks

  2. Pingback: Another Year in the Books – 2013 Year in Review | blindoggbooks

  3. Pingback: The True Meaning of Free Choice | blindoggbooks

Leave a Reply

